Annual Dinner Dance 2017

Click here for Pictures >>>>>

The curtains fell on the 2017 Swirl, Sip & Savour Dinner Dance early Sunday morning at the Warehouse in Downsview. After many months of planning, preparation, deliberation and negotiations with vendors, sponsors, advertisers and well-wishers this Gala Event came to its natural conclusion in spectacular fashion. Fashion and class displayed in volumes, the ladies all decked out ready for the runways of Paris ​​ ​and the Gents sporting their best suits, and of course their college ties and lapel pins.

​Every detail seemed to be meticulously planned to enrich and enhance the theme of the event “Wine Tasting”. The table center pieces​, ​lighting, backdrops and right down to the use of a cork to hold the place card was simply brilliant.

Enter the cocktail lounge to find yourself surrounded by wine connoisseurs, all enjoying the unlimited sampling of four of the best on offer by Joseph’s Estate Wines, the main theme sponsor.

Two reds and two whites took a beating during the Swirl, Sip and Savor hour. Many a refined palate took in the range from medium bodied to honey fruited and delicately flavored wines.  The tasting was complimented by sumptuous hors d’oeuvres, carefully planned to assist in the wine tasting experience and beautifully presented by Chef’s Krishan and Merlyn.

Opening ceremonies were next, Emcee Rohan Mendis gathered all the Thomians to the center of the dance floor​, and led us in the singing of the college song, while our esteemed Past President Chico Guneratne unfurled and hoisted our proud colors. For many of us watching, this evoked so many memories of the “school by the sea” we had called home during our formative years. Emcee Rohan then called for a two-minute silence to remember our fallen comrades paying special tribute to Sri Rangan who we lost last December.

President Thamal Perera then took the mic to welcome all those in attendance, ​thank the vendors, sponsors and well-wishers. He made special mention of the Dance Committee led by Ashok Senadeera, who’s vision and leadership resulted in this spectacular event.

Grace was said by our very first President and founding member Wimsy Sinnatamby. He gave thanks to “All we have and are”. He also reminded us that the STC OBA Canada has let the echo ring loudly for the past 24 years. Soon after the opening ceremonies it was time for dinner and the dinner time show with Rohan and Robin Mendis. ​The duo performed a variety of classics from the 50’s, 60’s and 70’s to keep us entertained during the four-course extravaganza created by Krishan and Merlyn.

While the crowd was enjoying their delicious dessert, it was time for the door prizes to be drawn. ​In keeping with the Thomian tradition of class and value these prizes ranged from gift baskets to spa certificates and fine watches, totaling 14 Door Prizes drawn by a few of our special sponsors. Before you knew it, it was time for what everyone came for. Dancing to our favorite tunes from the Motown, Disco and rock n roll era. slowly building on speed and tempo. Next up we enjoyed the variety of Matrix for their first set.

​The battle of the bands kept the dance floor packed all the way to midnight. At this time, the dessert table was open for business ​and it was time for the all-important raffle draw! Many a lucky guest walked away with some great wine related gift packs including the top prize of a VIP Luxury Wine Tour for 12 persons at Karlo Estate and getaways valued over $2500. After a quick impromptu dance-off among the ladies hosted by Emcee Rohan and a few games of name that tune and guess the movie, ​it was back to Jit, Jive and Jig on the dance floor until the curtain call at 1.30am. Once again Emcee Rohan led the last men standing in a rousing rendition of Esto Perpertua to bring this memorable night to a fitting conclusion.


A big thank you to the dance committee who spent the better part of the last six months planning this event.

Ashok Senadeera (Chairman), Trevor Fernando, Priyanthan Gopalapilai, Varuna Indraratne, Thamal Perera, Sumith Samarasinghe, Balen Rajanathan, Mark Daswani, and Rajit Kadirgamar